# R-08 — Musely The Eye Serum — Smooth 2.0 · Smooth+Bright 2.0

The page sells prescription tretinoin as up to twenty times more potent than retinol. The formula contains tretinoin at 0.001%. Apply the company's own multiplier to the company's own concentration and it lands well below a supermarket retinol.

- **Canonical:** https://www.30plusskin.care/reviews/musely-the-eye-serum
- **Site:** 30+/SKIN — Skincare, published as a spec sheet.
- **Issue:** ISSUE NO. 12 / REV. 2026.08
- **Standing terms:** INDEPENDENT · AFFILIATE-FUNDED · NOT MEDICAL ADVICE

---

## Verdict

- **Stance:** CAUTION — There is a real reason to hesitate. Read the finding before you buy.
- **Weighted score:** 32/100 across 75% of the scoring model
- **Category:** PRESCRIPTION COMPOUNDED / PERIORBITAL
- **Price:** $41 — PER MONTH · ALSO SOLD AT $78 AND $111
- **Container size:** NOT PUBLISHED
- **Prescription:** yes
- **Compounded:** yes
- **Assessment basis:** DESK REVIEW
- **Last updated:** 2026-07-25
- **Manufacturer page:** https://www.musely.com/eyeserum

There is genuine restraint in this formula and it deserves saying first. Hydroquinone is 3% — below the threshold the ochronosis literature flags, and a conventional prescription strength — on the thinnest skin on the body. From a company that will put 12% on a body cream and 12% on genital skin, choosing 3% for the periorbital area is exactly the right judgement. Caffeine at 1% and bisabolol at 2% are both sensible, honest inclusions for puffiness and irritation respectively.

Then there is the tretinoin, which is compounded at 0.001%. That is twenty-five times below the bottom of the range tretinoin trials are conducted at, and one hundred times weaker than the 0.1% this same company compounds into its own Veteran anti-ageing formula. There is a defensible reason to reduce a retinoid near the eye — the skin is thin and reactive — but reducing it is 0.01% or 0.025%. This is not a reduction; it is a rounding error.

What makes it worse is the claim sitting next to it. The page advertises prescription tretinoin as being up to twenty times more potent than over-the-counter retinol. Take the company's own multiplier and apply it to the company's own concentration: 0.001% at twenty times potency is equivalent to roughly 0.02% retinol. A mid-strength retinol on a pharmacy shelf is 0.5%. Their two claims, read together, describe a product about twenty-five times weaker than the thing it is being favourably compared to.

Add the exosomes — quantified as '100 million' with no unit of volume, no published evidence for topical application to intact skin, and a genuine question about whether a 30-to-150-nanometre vesicle crosses an intact stratum corneum at all — and this becomes the most expensive product in the range built around the least active ingredient in it.

## Actives, as published

| Active | Concentration | Role | Benchmark | Assessment | Flagged |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Tretinoin | 0.001% | Retinoid — sold as the headline prescription active | 0.025%–0.1% in the trial literature; 0.01% would already be a heavy reduction | Twenty-five times below the bottom of the therapeutic range and one hundred times below this company's own highest tretinoin product. Reducing a retinoid for periorbital use is correct; reducing it to a thousandth of a percent is not a dose, and it cannot support the potency claim made beside it. | yes |
| Hydroquinone | 3% (Smooth+Bright only) | Tyrosinase inhibitor — for the pigmented component of dark circles | 4% conventional prescription strength; above 4% is where ochronosis reports cluster | Correctly and deliberately restrained. On the thinnest skin on the body, from a company that sells 12% elsewhere, choosing 3% here is the right call and we will say so plainly. | no |
| Caffeine | 1% | Vasoconstrictor — transiently reduces puffiness | 0.5%–3% in eye products | A reasonable dose doing a real but temporary thing. Caffeine constricts periorbital vessels for hours, not weeks. Honest inclusion, provided nobody expects it to be structural. | no |
| iPSC Exosomes | 100 million | Marketed for ageing and dark circles | No established topical dose; no approved exosome product exists | A count is not a concentration — 100 million per what volume is not stated. No exosome product has completed FDA approval, published evidence for topical application to intact skin is thin, and vesicles of 30–150 nm face a real barrier crossing an intact stratum corneum. | yes |
| Bisabolol | 2% | Chamomile-derived anti-inflammatory | 0.1%–3% | Well chosen and well dosed. Periorbital skin is reactive and a soothing agent alongside a retinoid and a depigmenting agent is exactly right. | no |
| Niacinamide | 2% | Barrier support, pigment transfer inhibition | 2%–5% evidenced | Bottom of the useful range, half what the same company uses in its acne and anti-ageing creams, but defensible on thin skin where irritation risk is higher. | no |
| Hyaluronic Acid | 2% | Humectant | 0.1%–2% | Top of the usual range. Will plump the surface and soften the look of fine lines temporarily. Doing honest vehicle work. | no |

## Formula variants

The product page lists eight ingredients as though they arrive together. There are two formulas: Smooth 2.0 has no hydroquinone and no exosomes; Smooth+Bright 2.0 has both. Vitamin C appears on the page and in neither published formula.

| Variant | For whom | Actives | Assessment |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| SMOOTH 2.0 | Fine lines and puffiness, no pigmentation concern | Tretinoin 0.001% (flagged); Caffeine 1%; Hyaluronic Acid 2%; Niacinamide 2%; Bisabolol 2% | Four of the five ingredients are sensibly dosed for periorbital skin. The fifth is the retinoid, and it is the one the product is sold on. Without it this is a competent, unremarkable, non-prescription-grade eye serum. |
| SMOOTH+BRIGHT 2.0 | Fine lines plus pigmented dark circles | Exosomes 100 million (flagged); Hydroquinone 3%; Tretinoin 0.001% (flagged); Caffeine 1%; Hyaluronic Acid 2%; Niacinamide 2%; Bisabolol 2% | The hydroquinone at 3% is the one thing here that will reliably do something to pigmented dark circles, and it is correctly restrained for the site. The exosome count is a marketing quantity, not a concentration. |

## Scoring

| Criterion | Weight | Score | Note |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| EVIDENCE FOR THE ACTIVE | 30% | 38/100 | Hydroquinone at 3% has a real evidence base for pigmented dark circles, and caffeine has support for transient puffiness. Against that: tretinoin at 0.001% has no efficacy evidence at that concentration, topical exosomes on intact skin have almost none, and the product cannot address the structural cause that accounts for a large share of under-eye darkness in this age group. |
| FORMULATION INTEGRITY | 20% | 42/100 | Real credit for the restraint on hydroquinone and for choosing bisabolol and caffeine, both appropriate to the site. Marked down hard because the ingredient the product is named and priced around is present at a non-dose, and because an ingredient quantified as a count rather than a concentration cannot be assessed at all. |
| DISCLOSURE | 15% | 12/100 | The weakest in the register. Eight ingredients presented as one formula when there are two. No concentrations on the page. Vitamin C advertised and in neither published formula. Three different prices on the same page. An exosome quantity with no denominator. And a potency claim that the company's own formula contradicts. |
| TOLERANCE IN USE | 15% | not scorable | Not assessed. Worth noting that the very low retinoid dose does make this less likely to irritate than a properly dosed eye retinoid would — which is the one respect in which 0.001% is an advantage. |
| TEXTURE & WEAR | 10% | not scorable | Not assessed. Requires the product in hand over the full trial window. |
| COST PER APPLICATION | 10% | 25/100 | The most expensive product in the range — $41 a month, $78 on auto-refill, or $111 once — with no published volume, and built around a retinoid at a twenty-fifth of threshold. The 3% hydroquinone is the only thing here you are meaningfully paying a prescription premium for. |

_A criterion that cannot be assessed from published information is not guessed at. Its weight is removed from the denominator, and the coverage figure above says how much of the model survived._

## Strengths

- Hydroquinone restrained to 3% on the thinnest skin on the body — the right call, and notable from a company that sells 12% elsewhere.
- Bisabolol at 2% is a genuine anti-inflammatory and an intelligent choice for periorbital skin.
- Caffeine at 1% is a real, if temporary, intervention for puffiness and is not oversold as anything else.
- Directions are good: wait five minutes, moisturise after, wear SPF 30+ during the day.
- Side effects are stated on the page.
- A hydroquinone-free variant exists for people with no pigmentation concern.

## Weaknesses

- Tretinoin at 0.001% — twenty-five times below the therapeutic floor and one hundred times below the company's own strongest formula.
- A '20× more potent than retinol' claim that the company's own concentration contradicts.
- Exosomes quantified as a count with no volume, no approved product class, and a real skin-penetration question.
- Eight ingredients advertised across two formulas; vitamin C is in neither.
- Three different prices for the same product on one page.
- The most expensive product in the range and the weakest headline active in it.
- Nothing here addresses structural tear trough hollowing, a leading cause of under-eye shadow after thirty.
- The 94% and 80% figures are uncontrolled, unblinded self-report, and 'effective' is never defined.

## Suits

- Someone whose dark circles are genuinely pigmentary — brown rather than blue-purple, and unchanged when the skin is gently stretched — who wants a restrained 3% hydroquinone for the area.
- Someone who wants a very gentle introduction to a periorbital retinoid and understands they are getting a very small dose.
- Someone who wants the puffiness benefit of caffeine and knows it lasts hours, not weeks.

## Avoid if

- You are pregnant or breastfeeding. Tretinoin is contraindicated at any concentration.
- Your dark circles are structural — if stretching the skin or lying down changes them, the cause is shadow and no topical will fix it.
- Your dark circles are vascular and blue-purple. Caffeine will help transiently; nothing here changes it durably.
- You are buying it for the tretinoin. At 0.001% you would get more retinoid activity from an over-the-counter retinol.
- You are buying it for the exosomes. There is no published basis for expecting them to do anything through intact skin.

## The full assessment

### What it is

The Eye Serum is a compounded prescription serum for the periorbital area, sold at $41 a month on subscription, $78 on auto-refill, or $111 as a one-time purchase. It is marketed for crow's feet, puffiness, under-eye bags, fine lines and dark circles.

The page lists eight ingredients. There are two published formulas. Smooth 2.0 is tretinoin 0.001%, caffeine 1%, hyaluronic acid 2%, niacinamide 2% and bisabolol 2%. Smooth+Bright 2.0 adds hydroquinone 3% and exosomes. Vitamin C is advertised on the page and appears in neither.

**RECORD**

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| BRAND | MUSELY |
| PRODUCT | THE EYE SERUM |
| CLASS | COMPOUNDED PRESCRIPTION TOPICAL |
| SITE | PERIORBITAL — THINNEST SKIN ON THE BODY |
| FORMULAS | 2 — SMOOTH 2.0 · SMOOTH+BRIGHT 2.0 |
| PRICE | $41 / MO · $78 REFILL · $111 ONCE |
| FILL VOLUME | NOT PUBLISHED |
| DOSE | ONE PUMP AT NIGHT, MOISTURISE AFTER 5 MIN |

### First, the thing they got right

Hydroquinone here is 3%. We have spent seven reviews on this company, several of them arguing that 12% hydroquinone is being applied where it should not be. On the thinnest and most permeable facial skin there is, they chose a conventional, restrained, below-threshold concentration.

That is the correct judgement and it is evidence that someone in the formulation chain understands site-specific dosing perfectly well. Bisabolol at 2% for irritation and caffeine at 1% for transient puffiness are similarly well judged. Four of the seven ingredients in the Bright formula are doing sensible work at sensible concentrations.

> **WHY THIS MATTERS BEYOND THIS PRODUCT** — The 3% here undercuts any defence of the 12% elsewhere. The company demonstrably knows how to scale a depigmenting agent to the fragility of the site. On the eye they did it. On genital skin they did not.

### The arithmetic that decides this review

The product page makes a specific comparative claim: prescription tretinoin is a retinoid up to twenty times more potent than over-the-counter retinol. That is a reasonable statement about the molecules. It becomes a problem when you put it next to the concentration.

Tretinoin here is 0.001%. Using the company's own multiplier — twenty times — that is equivalent to roughly 0.02% retinol. Retinol on a pharmacy shelf is commonly sold at 0.25%, 0.5% or 1%.

**FIG. 1 — RETINOID ACTIVITY, ON THE COMPANY'S OWN CONVERSION** — Illustrative. Potency ratios are not strictly linear, but no reasonable multiplier closes a gap this size.

| Item | Value (% RETINOL-EQUIVALENT) | Note |
| --- | --- | --- |
| THE EYE SERUM — 0.001% TRETINOIN × 20 | 0.02 | The prescription product |
| ENTRY OTC RETINOL | 0.25 | No prescription required |
| MID-STRENGTH OTC RETINOL | 0.5 | Twenty-five times the serum |
| HIGH-STRENGTH OTC RETINOL | 1 | Fifty times the serum |

_Scale maximum: 1% RETINOL-EQUIVALENT._

> **THE TWO CLAIMS CANNOT BOTH STAND** — Either the potency comparison is the relevant fact, in which case this product is roughly twenty-five times weaker than a mid-strength retinol you can buy without a doctor — or the concentration is the relevant fact, in which case the comparison to retinol should not be on the page. Both statements are published; together they do not describe a coherent product.

We want to be fair about the counter-argument, because there is one. Periorbital skin is thin, reactive and adjacent to the eye itself, and reducing a retinoid for that site is genuinely good practice. Musely's own help material says the low concentration is chosen to avoid irritation, which is an honest rationale.

But a considered reduction for the eye area is 0.01%, or 0.025% for a tolerant user. Going to 0.001% is not a dose adjustment; it is two orders of magnitude below where the evidence begins. And whatever the rationale, it cannot coexist on the same page as a boast about prescription potency.

**FIG. 2 — TRETINOIN ACROSS EVERY MUSELY PRODUCT IN THE REGISTER** — The therapeutic range begins at 0.025%. The eye serum sits at one hundredth of the company's own strongest formula.

| Item | Value (% W/W) | Note |
| --- | --- | --- |
| THE EYE SERUM | 0.001 | 25× below the floor |
| THE BODY CREAM · THE SPOT PEEL | 0.01 | Below the floor |
| THE ACNE CREAM · KP CLASSIC | 0.015 | Below the floor |
| ANTI-AGING GENTLE | 0.025 | Bottom of the therapeutic range |
| ANTI-AGING VETERAN | 0.1 | Top of the range — same company |

_Scale maximum: 0.1% W/W._

### The exosomes

The Bright formula contains what the page calls iPSC exosomes, quantified as '100 million'. That is a count, not a concentration — one hundred million per what volume is not stated anywhere we could find, which makes the figure unassessable by construction.

Three things are worth stating carefully here, because this is an area where it is easy to be either credulous or alarmist.

- No exosome product has completed the FDA drug approval process. The agency's public safety notification and its warning letters concern exosome products marketed as regenerative medicine and administered as biologics — that is a different context from a topical on intact skin, and we are not suggesting otherwise. But there is no approved exosome product of any kind.
- Published evidence for topical exosomes on intact skin is thin. Most of the interesting data involves delivery through a compromised barrier, such as after microneedling — which the FDA treats as administration of a biologic rather than topical use.
- There is a straightforward physical question. Exosomes are lipid vesicles of roughly 30 to 150 nanometres. The stratum corneum is a formidable barrier to molecules far smaller than that. How intact vesicles of this size are expected to cross it is not addressed.

None of that makes the ingredient dangerous. It makes it, on published evidence, a reason to pay more rather than a reason to expect more.

### What no eye serum can do

This is the most useful thing we can tell anyone reading a review of an under-eye product, and it applies to every brand rather than this one. Dark circles have three distinct causes, and they respond to completely different things.

**THE THREE CAUSES, AND WHAT ACTUALLY ADDRESSES EACH**

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| PIGMENTARY — BROWN | MELANIN. RESPONDS TO HYDROQUINONE, TXA, AZELAIC |
| VASCULAR — BLUE / PURPLE | VESSELS SHOWING THROUGH. CAFFEINE HELPS TRANSIENTLY |
| STRUCTURAL — SHADOW | TEAR TROUGH HOLLOWING. NO TOPICAL REACHES IT |
| HOW TO TELL | STRETCH THE SKIN GENTLY, OR LIE DOWN |
| IF IT FADES WHEN STRETCHED | PIGMENTARY OR VASCULAR |
| IF THE SHADOW PERSISTS | STRUCTURAL — SAVE YOUR MONEY |

Structural dark circles come from loss of volume and the shadow cast by the tear trough. No topical product restores orbital fat or changes the architecture of the midface. That is not a limitation of this serum; it is a limitation of the entire category, and it is the reason so many eye creams disappoint.

A page selling into a complaint where a large share of buyers have an untreatable cause ought to help them work out which group they are in. The thirty-second stretch test above costs nothing and would prevent a great many disappointed purchases.

### Three prices, one product

The same page shows $41 a month, $78 on auto-refill and $111 for a one-time purchase. We could not reconcile these into a single clear statement of what the product costs, and with no published container size there is no way to compute cost per application either.

On any of those numbers this is the most expensive product Musely sells that we have reviewed. It contains the lowest retinoid concentration of anything in the range, and one ingredient whose quantity is expressed in a unit that cannot be evaluated.

### Where we stand

This is the lowest score in the register, and it is worth being explicit that a low score is not the same as a warning. The Private Cream scored higher and we told people to avoid it, because its problem was safety. This product's problem is different: it is unlikely to hurt you, and reasonably likely to underdeliver relative to what you paid and what you were told.

There is a good product buried in here. Hydroquinone 3% with bisabolol and caffeine, honestly described and sensibly priced, would be a genuinely useful periorbital treatment for pigmented dark circles. It is surrounded by a retinoid at a hundredth of the company's own working dose, an ingredient measured in a unit with no denominator, and a potency claim its own formula refutes.

If you have brown, pigmentary under-eye darkening, ask for the Bright formula and understand that the hydroquinone is what you are buying. If your circles are shadow, keep your money — no serum on the market, at any price, is going to move them.

## Where to buy

| Retailer | Price | Link | Note | Commission-bearing |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Musely | $41 / mo | https://www.musely.com/eyeserum?utm_source=30plusskin&utm_medium=affiliate&utm_campaign=review&utm_content=musely-the-eye-serum&utm_term=markdown | Prescription. Also listed at $78 auto-refill and $111 one-time. | yes — affiliate link |

The most expensive product in the range, with the weakest retinoid dose in it. Read the arithmetic above before you decide.

## Sources

- [Musely — The Eye Serum product page](https://www.musely.com/eyeserum) — Pricing at $41/$78/$111, the eight advertised ingredients, the '20× more potent than retinol' claim, the 80% and 94% figures, directions and stated side effects.
- [Musely Help Centre — formulas of The Eye Serum](https://support.musely.com/hc/en-us/articles/11006952266775-What-are-the-formulas-of-The-Eye-Serum) — Source of both published formulas, including tretinoin 0.001%, hydroquinone 3%, caffeine 1% and the exosome count.
- [FDA — public safety notification on exosome products](https://www.fda.gov/vaccines-blood-biologics/safety-availability-biologics/public-safety-notification-exosome-products) — No approved exosome product; the notification concerns products administered as biologics rather than topicals on intact skin.
- [Lower eyelid dark circles: a stepwise assessment framework](https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC11177555/) — Clinical framework separating pigmentary, vascular and structural causes of periorbital darkening.
- [Ishack et al. — exogenous ochronosis associated with hydroquinone: a systematic review](https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/ijd.15878) — Context for why 3% is the restrained, below-threshold choice.

## Related records

- [L-02 Retinisation is not a result](/ledger/retinisation-is-not-a-result)
- [R-30 Alloy M4 Eye Cream Rx](/reviews/alloy-m4-eye-cream) — CAUTION
- [R-06 Musely The Anti-Aging Cream](/reviews/musely-the-anti-aging-cream) — RECOMMENDED

---

## Elsewhere in the register

- [Review register](/reviews)
- [Active monographs](/actives)
- [Brand register](/brands)
- [Evidence register](/evidence)
- [The ledger](/ledger)
- [How we test](/how-we-test)
- [Agent guide](/llms.txt)
- [Sitemap](/sitemap.xml)

_EVERY FIGURE RESOLVES TO A RECORD. NO NUMBER ON THIS SITE IS AUTHORED BY US._
